School of Physics Museum, University of Melbourne

The collection of the Physics Museum at the University of Melbourne comprises some 350 items of historical and scientific interest, concentrating on scientific apparatus constructed by former professors and staff for research purposes.


The collection includes equipment and photographs spanning the history of the School of Physics, which was established as the School of Natural Philosophy in the 1880s.

There are significant holdings of ruling engines and diffraction gratings developed by Professors Grayson and Lyle as well as apparatus emerging from optical munitions research directed by Professor Laby during the Second World War.